Breakfast

To all my Pintrest lovers out there!!!!! I’m sure you have boards with endless pins on recipes you’d just LOVE to make!!! But then you never really make them. Am I right?

So I decided to make this breakfast dish that I thought looked AMAZING! It was a crockpot meal, so that was a bonus.

A breakfast scramble in the crockpot. How simple and delicious? So I followed the directions to a T. I sprayed the dish with nonstick cooking spray, layered in hashbrowns, bacon, poured the beaten eggs with milk, then topped with cheese. I repeated these layers 3 times (ending with cheese on top). This sounds wonderful doesn’t it?

It said to cook on low for 8-10 hours. That was the PERFECT amount of time in order for it to cook overnight and be ready when we woke up in the morning.

I wake up and there is a distinct, odd smell. I completely forgot I had made that dish last night, so I wasn’t sure what it was.

When I go into the kitchen, I said to my man, “What’s that smell?”

He points to the crockpot and says, “Look.”

Since his immediate reaction wasn’t, “Babe, that breakfast looks so fantastic and you are amazing for doing so little work to create such a masterpiece,” I knew it wasn’t going to be what I expected.

I open the lid, and the cheese was burnt! What!? I followed the directions perfectly!

Since I had to leave for work, I scooped some out and put it in a tupperware bowl to take with me.

After an hour commute to work, I finally arrive. I sit down, get out my breakfast, and take a bite!

As you have probably figured out by now, it was awful! Not inedible. Just not good. Like, since we are privileged here in the U.S. I’m not going to eat it because it’s not satisfying to me. But if I could send this crockpot disaster over to a 3rd world country where children are starving, they’d feast and fill their bellies. If it were that simple, I’d do it in a heartbeat, but I can’t. So this food is basically going to be wasted.

This concludes The Daily Complaint.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

