Direct Sales

We all know people selling something. We have a hair lady, a nail lady, a makeup lady, a bag lady, a scent lady, a jewelry lady, a clothes lady, a skincare lady, a book lady, a bedroom lady, a health lady, etc… There are more, but those were the ones I thought of in about 10 seconds.

direct sales

First of all, let me tell you what companies I’ve partnered with. I am an active independent consultant for Rodan and Fields, and I am a dormant consultant for Usborne Books and More.

I have been with UBAM for right at a year now. I didn’t even know about the company when I first joined. I had gone to a ladies night vendor event with my cousin to support my sister who had a booth there for her Pure Romance business. As soon as we walked in the doors, I saw the most wonderful display of children’s books! My son was about 5 months old at the time, so I fell in love. I saw the Whatif Monster plush stuffed animal, sitting opposite from it’s corresponding book “Jonathan James and the Whatif Monster,” and I HAD to have them for my boy. The consultant running that booth told me of a deal she was offering to anyone who booked a party (hosting a night at your home to talk about the books). Since I wanted them all, I agreed, and booked a party with her that night. I didn’t know her whatsoever, but I saw the value of the books. Before my scheduled party, I decided that since I would most definitely be buying more of these books for my son’s personal library, I might as well get the biggest discount possible. So I joined the company as a consultant.

usborne-books

I don’t push sales with this company, and I don’t really even share much about them. I personally think they are wonderful, and I would love to see more kids reading these days, but I still get a discount when I buy the books, and if anyone ever wants to reach out to me about it, I’ll help them in anyway I can.

I have only been a consultant with Rodan and Fields for just shy of two weeks now. I was presented the products and the business from my man’s cousin (who has been with the company for a little over a year and a half). My man and I have been living paycheck to paycheck for basically our entire relationship, and for anyone in our situation, you know how hard it is to pull out of that. I took my own time to read success stories, see results (even from people I personally know), and see where the company was going. I saw the business opportunity immediately, and I knew I wanted to join her in this journey. She was patient with me the entire time. I had asked a lot of questions, and she answered them. I told her I wanted to do it, but I didn’t have the money to invest up front. She checked in often to tell me about any deals/specials corporate was doing. She knew I still couldn’t afford it, but she still shared it with me. I was finally able to invest in myself, my skin, and my future once I received my tax return!

R+F Independant Consultant

The direct sales model isn’t like what a lot of people think it is. Every single person buys products. Whether it’s food, makeup, skincare, clothes, books, technology, etc… The direct sales companies know that a lot of purchases happen because of referrals, and that’s why they are so successful. Not only because people you know are testaments to the products (which validates them that much more), but also because the products being sold this way aren’t available to purchase through any other avenue.

My thoughts on it are this: If I want/need something that I can either buy at a store, or buy from someone I know that will support them at the same time as providing me with the products I want, it’s a no-brainer.

If it’s within my budget, I will always try a product that I want while supporting my friends/family. If I don’t like it, no harm, no foul. I never have to purchase anything else if I don’t want to. If I do like it though, why wouldn’t I continue giving my business to someone I know!? It’s no different than going to a store and buying a product you’ve never tried before.

Why

You might be surprised with the quality of a lot of these products in this market.

The business model is truly remarkable because it’s something busy people can do if/when they have time. You can work your direct sales business around a full time job. The potential is really up to you.

If someone has decided to venture into the direct sales world (for any type of product), I hope you support them. Chances are, they have set goals and are trying to better the future for their family.

A lot of people see this as a “pyramid scheme,” but recruiting is important. First of all, signing up underneath someone isn’t a bad thing. Are they going to make money on your sales? Yes… But why wouldn’t you be happy about that? You are further supporting your friend/family member. You are also going to grow your business and recruit people underneath you. The people at the “bottom” can make just as much (if not more) than the people at the “top.” It’s all up to you and how much work you put into it. You want people who are driven and ambitious just like you are.

It’s not about who’s making the most money, it’s about supporting each other. It’s about changing people’s lives. It’s about encouragement, motivation, inspiration, and challenging each other.

compete

No one that is “Above” you in your direct sales business wants you to fail. Every single person I’ve ever encountered from any D.S. company, on any D.S. level has been a positive thinker and seriously happy.

Having a little cushion in the bank is always nice. Being able to have extra time to do what you want to do instead of what you have to do is a goal for everyone isn’t it? But the true happiness of these men and women comes from helping other people change their lives. From having the time and financial freedom to give back.

To anyone out there who is wanting a change, go for it! Ignore those people who put you down and make you feel like you are wasting your time and money. Let that motivate you. The direct sales world is full of men and women ready to support you! You might be nervous to invest in something you’ve never done before, but whoever helps you get started will be there to help you reach your goals.

comfort zone

We all only live once. We aren’t destined to just work the rest of our lives in an unfulfilling job. A career doing something you believe in could make you the best version of yourself.

Leave a Reply

