Making changes to reach goals

Everyone will go through a point in their life where they desperately wish something would change. We have the same routines day in and day out, and it saddens us when we think, is this it? We wonder if we would be satisfied with this same mundane ritual for the rest of our lives.

Most of us will admit that we are not fulfilled in some way. Many of us connect that feeling with our job. We settle into a position that pays us enough to get by, but not enough to provide much of a cushion for emergencies or “play money”. We might not enjoy our job. We might not enjoy the people we work with. We might not enjoy the hours, distance, or lack of advancement opportunities. Whatever the reason may be, we are unhappy where we’re at.

Truth be told, life will continue the way it is unless we decide to put in effort to try and improve things we’re unhappy with. Most of us aren’t going to win any sort of lottery (boy would that be awesome!?), we won’t have an inheritance of great fortune, and we won’t invent something worth millions. The only way to achieve greatness is through hard work, dedication, and perseverance. Throw in passion to that mix as well. If you don’t feel strongly about what you’re working towards, then when you reach that goal, it isn’t going to ever be enough.

I think it’s important to have goals and always try to do better in your life. Now that I’m a mom and I know my son is/will be watching me, it’s more important to me to show him how to keep going. I am choosing to be a good role model. I want him to be better than me.

my-son

He is almost a year and a half, and my goal is to be able to come back home to care for him and teach him how I see fit, while still providing sufficient income. Oh, and I want to enjoy what it is that I’ll be doing. Sounds like a lot to hope for, I know. It’s really sad that we all think that this is such an unattainable goal. Why shouldn’t we enjoy what we do for income? Why do we have to settle for less than what makes us happy?

I’ll be starting a new adventure soon as a Rodan+Fields consultant once I receive my tax return (yeah yeah!) and can purchase the kit. I don’t have awful skin, but there are definitely some areas of improvement I could benefit from personally. I’ve seen/heard nothing but great things about the products themselves, and I see the potential for a wonderful change in my own life through the business.

rf

I figure, why not? If I don’t do something to improve the future for myself and my son, no one is going to do it for me. I look at it like this… I will buy the kit (which is about 50% off the products already), so I will be able to improve my skin at a discount right off the bat, and I’ll have a means to bring in additional income. It could just be an extra $200 a month, or it could be an extra $2000 a month. The potential is even greater than the latter. The income I am able to obtain will be reflective of the amount of work I put in.

How wonderful would it be to be to have a career where I’m able to help people feel confident and beautiful in their own skin? I can imagine it, and I can see the path.

I’m not leaving my job, as it is a guaranteed income right now. I will be working my R+F business in my spare time and sharing it with as many people as I can. I won’t be pushy, or “salesy”, I’ll just share. Eventually however, that is what I’m striving for. To leave my current job. That’s all it is… A place I go Monday through Friday, do the same tasks day in and day out, get paid the exact same every pay period, go home, and do it all again week after week.

My job isn’t miserable by any means. I genuinely like the company I work for and the people I work with/for. But that’s just it… I’m working for people. I do not feel fulfilled. I’m helping no one, I’m not reaching my full potential in life, and I’m certainly not a hero. I’m not trying to save the world, but the thought of being my own boss, making my own schedule, being there for my son for everything because I can, is such a huge motivation. All while improving other people’s lives through their newly found confidence in their skin, or through sharing this business opportunity for them to take a chance at change just like I’m doing. That would make me feel so humbled, and fulfilled, and truly satisfied with the way I’ve chosen to live my life.

choices-quotes-images-2-a7b6f2ff

I am watching these people around me doing great things when they gave an opportunity a chance, and I don’t want to be left behind. I would love nothing more than to be able to show my son what’s possible when you put your all into something. If I end up not doing well with the business, I can say that I gave it a shot and at the very least, I’ll have incredible skin. Wish me luck, and if you have any areas of your skin that you are struggling to improve, or know someone who is, shoot me a message and we’ll talk. Or if you think you would also like to go on an adventure to take control of your life, I want to help anyone who is wanting a change. You never know where an opportunity will come from. Mine was from my boyfriend’s cousin. Yours could be some random stranger’s blog you read (wink wink). It doesn’t matter where the opportunity presents itself, it just matters what you do with it. As Eminem once said, “Would you capture it, or just let it slip?”

eminemchoices

Leave a Reply

