Part 2 of The Voice Audition

We leave tomorrow for Chicago. I’m excited, but sort of nervous. I am trying not to overthink the whole audition because I don’t want to get my hopes up to not go any further.

You see, I can picture myself doing well in this competition, but in order to make it to the live audition to be chosen by a coach, I have to be selected from this first audition for a callback. Once I go to the callback, I have to be selected to move on from there as well.

I understand it’s T.V. and the producers have certain criteria of people they are looking for to be on the show, but the first two rounds of auditions will be in front of people who most likely aren’t musically inclined and probably don’t give a shit who goes on. This worries me because I believe I have a good enough voice to be able to at least make it to the main audition, but I could easily be turned away because I don’t have the look they want. I might not be a box on their list to check.

They might need 100 country singers, 100 rock singers, 100 pop singers, and 100 R&B singers. Even though I might like all of those styles of music, and feel I could sing in all of those categories, my song choice could screw me from moving on if they already have enough people from that category selected.

There are so many variables as to what could ruin my audition, but at the end of the day, it’s up to me. I have to muster up the courage to go in there with my head held high, and sing the absolute best I can in order to prove that I deserve to at least move on.

If I’m not selected to move on in the competition I will be bummed for sure, but it’s not the end of the world, and at least I’ll have a good time in Chicago.

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

