So I’m doing a thing

My entire life I have gone to school, gone to work, and stayed on the hamster wheel that is life. I’ve always loved to sing, and I generally get compliments on my voice. It’s humbling, but I am always nervous to sing in front of people. Karaoke is the closest thing I’ve had to an audience. I think it helps that the people there are usually a bit intoxicated, so I don’t care what they think as much.

In everything I’ve ever done, I’ve always put a lot of pressure on myself. Whether it be in sports, or grades, or even singing. I’m not conceited by any means, but people are good at things. I recognize that I have talents, and I want to be better. I always feel like I’m not good enough.

My mom and sister have always supported me in anything I’ve ever striven for. From going to college and getting a degree, to being a direct sales consultant and starting my own business. They always want me to go for my dreams, and I think that plays a huge part as to where I am now.

Travis is definitely my main support now, and he is amazing. He compliments me on things, and makes me feel like I’m better than I give myself credit for. He’s actually the one who convinced me to do this. I will be trying out for The Voice in a couple weeks.

Voice.jpg

I might come back the next day having not made it further in the competition, but he has assured me that is nothing to be embarrassed about. He is excited for me that I am going to try to do something that not many people succeed at. He keeps saying, “When you become famous…” and it makes me feel really good.

I can’t imagine being famous or having fans, I just genuinely love singing. I would love the opportunity to have a career pouring my heart and soul into music and giving people that part of me. Music has always been there for me for all of the emotions I’ve had. Sadness, anger, happiness, relaxation, etc. There is music for whatever you are feeling, and I would absolutely love to be that outlet for other people. To make them feel something when they listen to me.

You never succeed if you don’t try… We hear it all the time, but it really is true. Even if nothing comes to fruition with this audition, at least I can say that I tried. Wish me luck everyone, the audition is the 21st! I am nervous just thinking about it. Excited nerves of course.

4 thoughts on “So I’m doing a thing

  1. I am anxiously awaiting for Part 2 of this article. Best of luck my friend. “when you become famous”, ill babysit while you celebrate with Miley…or Alicia….or Blake, or Adam, I dont discriminate. 😉
    ~Your biggest fan

    Like

Leave a Reply

