Ringing in the new year

 

As 2016 nears the end, I sit here and wonder what this means to me. Honestly, it doesn’t mean a whole lot.

Life just keeps going and going and going. I think that making goals is important in life, but I don’t know why people wait until this time of year to do so. If you have a goal, strive to  make it happen. Any time. I’ll be the first to admit that I slack in this area, but I want to do better. Not just because it’s a new year.

I can reminisce that this past year was good to me, and (at times) it was bad to me. A lot can happen in 365 days. But I’m yawning as I write this, so I don’t really feel like doing that.

There are people that have come into my life that I hope will continue to be there in 2017. There are people that were already in my life where our relationships dwindled a bit. There are also people that were already in my life where our relationships grew.

Careers changed, we moved, and we had bumps in our finances.

There was a presidential election and people went crazy. I don’t necessarily think this was the cause of the insanity, but it definitely heightened it. I voted, but I didn’t act like a fool because I wanted a specific person to win.

The way people are acting towards each other these days is plain ridiculous. I have lost respect for some people, and I have gained respect for others.

I’m just a 26 year old woman with a 16 month old son trying to do my best to make sure he stays healthy and happy.

I would say that overall if you are reading this, your year couldn’t have been that bad. There are people who experienced loss of a loved on this past year, and that is undeniably something to grieve. I feel for all of you that are going through that or any other struggles in your life, but if you are still around to read this, you made it. You might be having a hard time, and you will most likely go through more hard times. Most of us go through a few hardships each and every year.

We are all so connected in the fact that we are all just doing the best we can in our jobs, as parents, as friends, as a lover (for those of us in relationships). Yet the hate has grown so strong over this past year as people treat each other so terribly.

I am looking forward to 2017. Not because 2016 was so awful, but because I’m going to be around for it. I get to watch my son grow up for one more year. I get to try and accomplish goals (not just a newly founded resolution). I get to continue to build the relationships with the people I love for another year.

I am not sure if I’ll be able to make it to midnight to transition from one year to the next, however. I’m currently sitting on the couch, watching The Big Bang Theory, drinking a glass of wine, loving the relaxation that comes from your 16 month old son finally being asleep after a previous night of him (or you) not sleeping for shit.

I will wake up tomorrow into a new year, and I’ll keep living my life the same way I’ve lived in 2016. I’ll just keep trying to be a better person.

Have a happy New Year everyone! Have fun, be safe, and don’t take things for granted. I know I won’t.

 

32f69b47abcddc568dfb875a83ff9648

Leave a Reply

