On a real note

So I know you moms out there are always posting the cutest, most adorable photos of your children on social media. I’m guilty of it as well. However, let’s not pretend like your little angels are always so put together, smiley, and just plain picture ready…

My son is absolutely perfect! He is definitely the most adorable little boy out there. He is definitely more well behaved than any other child. Oh, and he naps regularly, listens to me when I tell him to do something, and he picks up after himself. (Ok, so I exaggerated just a little bit with the sarcasm, and I could be a little biased, but you get the point).

Anyway, what I’m trying to say, is that these kids are wild! They don’t listen, they are smelly, they are messy, they can be assholes, and yes, they throw fits.

harley_bike

That is most definitely my son, pissed off because he has a motorcycle (as a 1 year old)… Tough life kid. Tough life…

I’m ready to see the pictures of your kids being normal kids. I don’t want to have to try and compete with who has the better kids (no competition, I do), or who has the most perfect life, etc…

Let me see those kids covered in mystery stickiness. Let me see them getting into the cabinet with all the good china that they are going to throw like they’re at a discus competition. Let me see them jump off of things that surely give you a heart attack, but somehow they are miraculously just fine. Let me see them in normal life.

If you are a parent who seriously has a child that you keep clean 24/7, who’s child is ACTUALLY always well-behaved all of the time, please stop reading this and go put your child in a mud puddle. Seriously, go.

My son is generally a really great kid, but he’s starting to learn boundaries and push buttons. He knows the word “no”, but he sure likes to ignore it.

He bangs on EVERYTHING and he’s starting to climb on everything as well. It’s a lot of fun. So much fun… Really, I’m having fun.

Seriously though, I wouldn’t trade any of his fits, outbursts, or wild behavior for anything. He’s learning everyday and is becoming his own person. We show him love and discipline, and I’m hoping that will sculpt him to be a wonderful young man one day.

He teaches me something new about myself everyday. I can’t imagine my life without my little boy, and I’m so lucky to be his Mommy. But seriously, show me your kids in real life!

harley_mom

 

 

Leave a Reply

